Skip to main content
The cast of Pillars of the Community.

PIllars of the Community

In a New Version by Samuel Adamson

Directed by Elly Green

Season 30

Jan 19, 2108–Mar 3, 2018

Lies don’t last forever. The truth comes for all of us.

The return of a fugitive brother puts the future of wealthy businessman Karsten Bernick in peril. Details of a long-buried sex scandal and embezzlement come to the surface and force Bernick to face his family, his community and his demons. Adamson’s version of Ibsen’s 1877 moral drama was first produced at the National Theatre in 2005 to critical acclaim. Ensemble member Elly Green (After Miss Julie, The Night Season) directs our first production in the new Strawdog Theatre at 1802 W Berenice.

RECOMMENDED Does anyone else play a compelling shitheel quite like John Henry Roberts? Michael Shannon maybe? … Roberts and company fill Samuel Adamson’s heady, dense adaptation of Henrik Ibsen’s story of immigration, capitalism, and cultural revolution with plenty of heat and tension … There’s exceptional work on display up and down the massive cast.”—Chicago Reader


Nicole Bloomsmith.

Nicole Bloomsmith*

as Betty

Casey Bond

as Olaf

Kamille Dawkins.

Kamille Dawkins*

as Dina Dorf

Kroydell Galima

as Johan Tonnesen

Annamarie Giordano

as Maid

Carmine Grisolia.

Carmine Grisolia*

as Mr. Rummel

Asia Jackson

Asia Jackson

as Mrs. Holt

Patrick Kelly.

Patrick Kelly

as Sandstad

Michael Kingston

Michael Kingston

as Hilmar Tonnesen

Robert Koon

Robert Koon

as Aune

Aaron Lamm

Aaron Lamm

as Olaf

Allison Latta

Allison Latta

as Lona Hessel

Kimberly Logan

Kimberly Logan

as Mrs. Lygne


Alyssa Maldonado

as Hilda

Dan Mc Geehan

Dan McGeehan

as Vigeland

Priya Mohanty

Priya Mohanty

as Marta Bernick

Michaela Petro.

Michaela Petro*

as Mrs. Rummel

John Henry Roberts.

John Henry Roberts*

as Karsten Bernick

Londen Shannon

Londen Shannon

as Knap

GW Copy

Gage Wallace*

as Rorlund

Schanora Wimpie

as Netta

Creative Team

Elly Green*

Arianna Soloway
Assistant Director

John Wilson
Set Design

John Kelly*
Light Design

Kate Hardiman
Assistant Light Design

Uriel Gomez
Costume Design

Leah Hummel
Props Design

Morgan Lake
Sound Design

Stacey Palmberg
Stage Manager

Annamarie Giordano
Assistant Stage Manager

Alyssa Maldonado
Assistant Stage Manager

Becca Levy*
Production Manager

Taylor Ovca
Master Electrician

Peter Wilde
Master Carpenter

* Strawdog Theatre ensemble member