Skip to main content
A uniformed officer puts a man in handcuffs in Detective Story.

Detective Story

Photo credit: Chris Ocken



Season 16

Dec 9, 2003–Dec 20, 2003

3829 N. Broadway

Strawdog begins the new season with one of the largest productions in its fifteen year history: Sidney Kingsley’s classic cop drama, Detective Story, directed by Shade Murray, director of Strawdog’s 2001 production of Our Country’s Good.

Detective Story takes place over several hours of one hot August day in 1949 in the offices of the 21st precinct detective squad, New York City. A parade of cops, criminals, reporters and everyday citizens come through the gate, each with their own story and voice: a woman who suffers from paranoid delusions; a decorated World War II veteran who is arrested for stealing from his employer; the young woman who wants to help him; a back-alley abortionist and his high priced lawyer; two petty criminals caught in the middle of a robbery.

At the center of this flurry is Detective James McLeod a cynical cop who holds firm to only two things: his principles” and the love of his wife, Mary. But as day turns into night in the 21st Precinct, McLeod’s relentless pursuit of justice forces him to confront truths that threaten everything that he believes in.

Jeff Awards

Production - Play; Ensemble; Director - Play, Shade Murray; Scenic Design, Ray Vicek

“… this well-crafted, highly engaging piece of entertainment is powerfully executed …Strawdog’s Detective Story is a triumph …”

— Windy City Times


Jennifer Avery

as Shoplifter

Michael Dailey.

Michael Dailey*

as Callahan

Anita Deely

Anita Deely

as Mrs. Bagatelle

Chris Hainsworth

as Dakis

Kyle Hamman.

Kyle Hamman*

as Lewis

Tom Hickey

as James McLeod

Shannon Hoag.

Shannon Hoag*

as Miss Hatch

Anderson Lawfer*

as Feeney Jr./Photographer

Loretta Rezos

Loretta Rezos

as Mary McLeod

John Henry Roberts.

John Henry Roberts*

as Sims

Noah Simon

as Willy

Jamie Vann.

Jamie Vann*

as Lt. Monaghan Mngyah

James Anthony Zoccoli

as Detective O'Brien

Creative Team

Sidney Kingsley

Shade Murray

Stephen F. Murray
Assistant Director

Sean T. Mallary
Light Design

Aly Renee Amidei*
Costume Design

Chris Hainsworth

Tim Zingelman

Chris Hainsworth
Fight Captain

* Strawdog Theatre ensemble member