A World Premiere
Book & Lyrics by Brett Neveu
Music by Mikhail Fiksel
directed by Kyle Hamman
Season 20
April 26—May 31, 2008
Director Kyle Hamman infuses the proceedings with a sweeping elegance … the entire cast is first-rate.
— Chicago Free Press
— Gay Chicago
… the entire Strawdog ensemble acts the hell out of it …
— Windy City Times
… by turns accurate, funny, and poignant …
— EDGE Chicago

A world premiere musical from Chicago playwright Brett Neveu concludes Strawdog's 20th Season exploration of the theme of dynasty, with original music by ensemble member Mikhail Fiskel and direction by ensemble member Kyle Hamman.

After contributing several brilliant audio pieces to Strawdog Radio Theatre, Brett marks his first full-length work on the Strawdog mainstage with this "accurate, funny, and poignant" take on Chicago politics. Strawdog ensemble members John Ferrick, Chris Hainsworth, Tom Hickey, Shannon Hoag and Kat McDonnell lead a cast of 20, backed by live music performed by The Denizens. The scene is election night in Cook County and the back-room dealings of the Chicago political machine collide with the messy personal politics of one candidate's troubled family.

One of Chicago's hottest playwrights, Brett Neveu's Gas for Less will debut later this spring at Goodman Theatre. Old Town is a perfect opportunity to catch the kind of work that made one of America's most important theaters sit up and take notice.

Brian Amidei
Jacob Carlson
Ryan Patrick Dolan
C. Jared Fernley
John Ferrick *
Daniel Deering
Sara Gorsky
Chris Hainsworth
Scotty Weltz
Tom Hickey
Andy Ringer
Shannon Hoag *
Karen Mosher
Kat McDonnell *
Cindy Weltz
Dylan McGorty
John Moran
Mike Michaels
Mike Ooi
Mel Dank
Jennifer Rhoads
Angela Maria Rojas
Anne Sheridan Smith
Liz Weltz
Danny Taylor
Ted Minor
Damian Vanore
Joseph Hild
Rebekah Ward-Hays
Brett Neveu
Set Design
Mike Smallwood
Light Design
Sean T. Mallary
Costume Design
Props Design
Kat Powers
Music Director
Mikhail Fiksel
Vocal Director
Andra Velis Simon
The Denizens
Brandon Campbell
Donald Cardiff
Randy Carpenter
Jeff Ebbler
Eric Engleson
Mikhail Fiksel
Paul Foster
Chris Gagnon
Paul Gilvary
Hilary Holbrook
Krystle Kirchner
Geoff Lewis
Mike Przygoda
John Tweedie
The Denizens
Eilleen Mallary
Stage Manager
Erin Carlson
Production Manager
Cortney Hurley
* = Strawdog company member
Photography by Jon Cole Media
Production photo by Chris Ocken
Photo by KBH Media
Photo by Donald Cardiff
Photo by John Flak
Photo by Dave Brennan
Photo by Heath Hays
Production photo by TCMcG Photography