by Rebecca Lenkiewicz
directed by Elly Green
Season 29
May 12—June 24, 2017
buy tickets
THU, FRI, SAT 8pm · SUN 4pm
Tickets $30
★★★★ None of which is to say The Night Season can’t stand tall on its own, particularly in director Elly Green’s grounded, extraordinarily sensitive production for Strawdog Theatre Company … Green’s staging is crisp and precise … The seven-member cast, five of them members of Strawdog’s ensemble, make a fresh and forceful case for the value of that storied Chicago model.
— Time Out Chicago
Green’s ardent production is equal parts visceral and vulnerable, and proves that truthful, messy, human theater is female … Green has done well to mine this rich text for its gold, and true to Strawdog’s aesthetic, this is a company of generous actors who play well together … I highly recommend it.
— Performink

When the tiny, seaside home town of W.B. Yeats gets occupied by an English film crew making his biopic, one barely functional Irish family finds themselves propelled in all directions. The mother who ran away, the father who can barely leave the house, a big pile of pent-up desire, it all gets confronted in this melancholy comedy helmed by the director of Sideshow Theatre's No More Sad Things, Stage Left's Rabbit, Wildclaw's The Woman in Black, and Strawdog's Season 28 smash After Miss Julie.

Content Advisory
The Night Season contains adult situations and partial nudity. May not be appropriate for people under 18.
Stella Martin
Maud Kennedy
Janice O'Neill *
Lily O'Hanlon
Michaela Petro *
Rose Kennedy
Michael Reyes *
Gary Malone
John Henry Roberts *
John Eastman
Justine C. Turner *
Judith Kennedy
Jamie Vann *
Patrick Kennedy
Rebecca Lenkiewicz
Assistant Director
Aliza Feder
Set Design
Mike Mroch
Light Design
Costume Design
Sound Design
Sammi Grant
Technical Direction
Michael Trudeau
Ben Chang
Stage Manager
Emily Ioppolo
Ass't Stage Manager
Caitie Noller
Master Electrician
Eric Vigo
Production Manager
Ellen Willett
* = Strawdog company member
Photography by Jon Cole Media
Production photo by Chris Ocken
Photo by KBH Media
Photo by Donald Cardiff
Photo by John Flak
Photo by Dave Brennan
Photo by Heath Hays
Production photo by TCMcG Photography